

Milwaukee County

Meeting Minutes - Final

Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee

The Honorable Jean A. DiMotto – Chairperson The Honorable James A. Gramling, Jr., Vice-Chairperson

> The Honorable Charles N. Clevert, Jr. The Honorable Charles F. Kahn, Jr. The Honorable Frederick P. Kessler The Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Committee Coordinator: Allyson R. Smith Research and Policy Analyst: Steve Cady

VIRTUAL PUBLIC HEARING

This Virtual Public Hearing was live-streamed on the County Legislative Information Center: https://milwaukeecounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

Call To Order

Roll Call at 6:35 p.m.

Present: 4 - Gramling Jr., Kahn Jr., Kuhnmuench, and DiMotto

Absent: 2 - Clevert Jr., and Kessler

Honorable Judges Clevert, Jr., and Kessler were not present at the time the roll was called, but appeared virtually later in the meeting.

 I
 HRA21-413
 Approval of minutes from the October 1, 2021, meeting of the Milwaukee

 County Independent Redistricting Committee.
 (ACTION ITEM)

 Attachments:
 HRA21-413 IRC DRAFT MINUTES (10/01/21)

 HRA21-413 IRC FINAL MINUTES (10/01/21)

APPEARANCE:

Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk

A motion was made by Honorable Judge Kuhnmuench, and seconded by Honorable Judge Gramling, Jr., that the draft minutes from the October 1, 2021, meeting of the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee be APPROVED. The motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

- Ayes: 4 Gramling Jr., Kahn Jr., Kuhnmuench and DiMotto
- Absent: 2 Clevert Jr. and Kessler

2 <u>HRA21-414</u> An update from the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission on Redistricting Maps Version H and Version J. (INFORMATION ONLY)

 Attachments:
 HRA21-414 VERSION E Detailed Map (Renumbered Districts)

 HRA21-414 MAP VERSION G

 HRA21-414 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION H (received 10/5/21)

 HRA21-414 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION J (received 10/05/21)

 HRA21-414 POWERPOINT (received 10/05/21)

Kevin J. Muhs, Executive Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, appeared virtually and spoke regarding Item 2.

Item 2 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

3 <u>HRA21-358</u> Public Comment Regarding the Proposed District Maps. *Testimony Will Be Limited to 2 Minutes Per Speaker. (INFORMATION ONLY)

APPEARANCES:

Rob Hullum, Communications Specialist, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk Supervisor Priscilla E. Coggs-Jones, District 10 Supervisor Sequanna Taylor, District 2 Supervisor Willie Johnson, Jr., District 13 Supervisor Sylvia Ortiz-Velez, District 12 Scott Brown, Deputy Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel

The following people appeared virtually and spoke regarding Item 3: State Senator Lena C. Taylor, District 4 James Davies Markia Hardin Robin Palm Dannie Smith Representative Supreme Moore Omokunde, District 17, Wisconsin State Assembly Michelle Bryant Paul Sickel Kevia Martin Terrence Ray

Item 3 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

MOTION 1

4 <u>HRA21-415</u> Discussion and possible approval of a final (2nd) redistricting map for consideration to submit to the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors (Redistricting Map versions G, H, or J). (ACTION ITEM)

 Attachments:
 HRA21-415 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION G (received 10/1/21)

 HRA21-415 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION H (received on 10/5/21)

 HRA21-415 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION J (received 10/5/21)

APPEARANCES:

Scott Brown, Deputy Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel Supervisor Priscilla Coggs-Jones, District 10

The following people, appeared virtually and spoke regarding Item 4: Kevin J. Muhs, Executive Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC) State Senator Lena C. Taylor, District 4

Honorable Judge Clevert, Jr., called for the previous question. There being no objections by the Honorable judges, the roll was called on Motion 1.

A motion was made by Honorable Judge Kuhnmuench, and seconded by Honorable Judge Clevert, Jr., that SEWRPC use the Version J redistricting map as a template for the modifications based on input from tonight's meeting.The motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Gramling Jr., Clevert Jr., Kahn Jr., Kuhnmuench and DiMotto

Noes: 1 - Kessler

MOTION 2

<u>HRA21-415</u> Discussion and possible approval of a final (2nd) redistricting map for consideration to submit to the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors (Redistricting Map versions G, H, or J).
 (ACTION ITEM)

 Attachments:
 HRA21-415 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION G (received 10/1/21)

 HRA21-415 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION H (received on 10/5/21)

 HRA21-415 REDISTRICTING MAP VERSION J (received 10/5/21)

A motion was made by Honorable Judge Kahn, Jr., and seconded by Honorable Judge Kuhnmuench, directing SEWRPC to rapidly prepare an adjustments to Version J redistricting map based on pubic comment, and declaring that other redistricting maps previously considered (Versions A, B, C, D, E, F, G, and H) are DISFAVORED. The motion PREVAILED by the following vote: Ayes: 5 - Gramling Jr., Clevert Jr., Kahn Jr., Kuhnmuench and DiMotto

Abstentions: 1 - Kessler

5 <u>HRA21-300</u> eComments submitted to the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee via the County Legislative Information Center (CLIC).

(INFORMATION ONLY)

*The Office of the County Clerk collects eComments submitted via CLIC, and appends these official public records to HRA File No. 21-300 at the conclusion of each meeting.

APPEARANCE:

Rob Hullum, Communications Specialist, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk

The October 6, 2021, record of eComments is attached to this file as "HRA21-300 eComments (10/06/21)."

The October 6,. 2021, record of eComments was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

The foregoing items were not considered in agenda order.

Length of Meeting: 6:35 p.m. to 9:12 p.m.

Adjourned,

Allyson R. Smith Committee Coordinator Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee

Next Meeting:

The next meeting of the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee is Friday, October 8, 2021, at 1:00 p.m.