

Milwaukee County

Meeting Minutes

Judiciary, Safety and General Services Committee

Chairperson: Supervisor Anthony Staskunas Vice Chairperson: Supevisor Sylvia Ortiz-Velez Supervisor Patti Logsdon Supervisor Steven Shea Supervisor Priscilla Coggs-Jones

Committee Coordinator: Allyson R. Smith, 414-278-4225 Research Analyst: Lottie Maxwell-Mitchell, 414-278-3967		
Wednesday, September 29, 2021	1:30 PM	County Legislative Information Center

SPECIAL VIRTUAL MEETING

This meeting was live-streamed on the County Legislative Information Center (CLIC): https://milwaukeecounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

Call To Order

Roll Call at 1:30 p.m.

Present 4 - Ortiz-Velez, Shea, Coggs-Jones and Staskunas

Absent 1 - Logsdon

Supervisor Logsdon was not present at the time the roll was called, but appeared virtually thereafter.

INDEPENDENT REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE - 1

1 <u>21-898</u> From the Chairwoman, Independent Redistricting Committee, submitting a supervisorial district reapportionment plan to the Board of Supervisors pursuant to Section 3.01 of the Milwaukee County Code of General Ordinances. (Referred to the Committee on Judiciary, Safety, and General Services, and the Committee of the Whole)

Attachments:21-898 REPORT21-898 RESOLUTION21-898 FISCAL NOTE21-898 FISCAL NOTE21-898 PROPOSED SUPERVISORY MAP E21-898 INTERACTIVE LINK TO PROPOSED IRC MAP E21-898 IRC PROPOSED MAP E AS .KMZ FILE FOR IMPORT TO
GOOGLE MAPS OR EARTH AS A LAYER
21-898 SEWRPC POPULATION TABLES (received 09/28/21)21-898 OCC PRELIMINARY OPINION V2 (received 10/01/21)

APPEARANCES:

Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk Supervisor John F. Weishan, Jr., District 16 Steve Cady, Director of Research and Policy, Research Services Division, Office of the Comptroller Brian Rothgery, Communications Director, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel Supervisor Sheldon Wasserman, District 3

The following people appeared virtually, and spoke regarding this Action Report: Honorable Judge Jean DiMotto, Chairwoman, Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee (IRC) Honorable Judge Fred Kessler, Member, IRC Honorable Judge Mary Kuhnmuench, Member, IRC Honorable Judge James Gramling, Jr., Member, IRC Kevin Muhs, Executive Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission State Senator Lena C. Taylor, District 4

A motion was made by Supervisor Ortiz-Velez that this Action Report be RECOMMENDED FOR REJECTION. The motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Ortiz-Velez, Logsdon, Shea, Coggs-Jones and Staskunas

E-COMMENTS-1

2 <u>21-14</u> eComments submitted to the Committee on Judiciary, Safety, and General Services via the County Legislative Information Center (CLIC). (INFORMATIONAL ONLY UNLESS OTHERWISE DIRECTED BY THE COMMITTEE)

*The Office of the County Clerk collects eComments via CLIC, and appends these official public records to Reference File No. 21-14 at the conclusion of each meeting.

There were no appearances for this item.

The September 29, 2021, record of eComments is attached to the file as "21-14 eComments (09/29/21)."

The September 29, 2021, record of eCommnets was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

Adjourned,

Allyson R. Smith Committee Coordinator Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk Committee on Judiciary, Safety, and General Services

<u>Deadline for the next meeting:</u> <u>The next regular meeting for the Committee on Judiciary, Safety, and General</u> <u>Services is Thursday, October 21, 2021, at 1:30 p.m.</u>

<u>Approval Tracking System review must be completed in Legistar on or before</u> <u>Friday, October 1, 2021, by 5:00 p.m., for the October meeting cycle.</u>