

Milwaukee County

County Courthouse 901 N. 9th Street, Rm. 201B Milwaukee, WI 53233

Meeting Minutes Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Chairperson: Supervisor Sequanna Taylor
Vice Chairperson: Supervisor Steven Shea
Supervisor Willie Johnson, Jr.
Supervisor Deanna Alexander
Supervisor Sylvia Ortiz-Velez
Committee Coordinator: Kelsey Evans, 414-278-4013

Committee Coordinator: Keisey Evans, 414-278-4013 Research Analyst: Ken Smith, 414-278-4362

Thursday, February 6, 2020

9:00 AM

Room 201B

SPECIAL MEETING

Call To Order

Roll Call at 9:01 a.m.

Present 3 - Shea, Johnson Jr. and Taylor

Excused 2 - Alexander and Ortiz-Velez

Supervisors Ortiz-Velez and Alexander were not present at the time the roll was called, but appeared shortly thereafter.

1 19-737

A resolution calling upon the United States Congress to repeal the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994 (1994 Crime Bill), and further calling upon Congress to pass and the President to sign, the Freedom to Thrive Public Safety Act of 2021. (09/19/19 and 11/04/19 County Board Meetings: Laid Over for One Meeting; 11/07/19 County

Board Meeting: Referred to IGR)

Sponsors: Nicholson, Johnson Jr., Shea, Ortiz-Velez and Taylor

Attachments: 19-737 RESOLUTION

19-737 FISCAL NOTE

19-737 COUNTY BOARD RESOLUTION

APPEARANCE:

Supervisor Marcelia Nicholson, District 5

A motion was made by Supervisor Shea that this Resolution be LAID OVER TO THE CALL OF THE CHAIRPERSON. The motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye: 3 - Shea, Johnson Jr. and Taylor

Excused: 2 - Alexander and Ortiz-Velez

2 20-137

A resolution creating the ONE Milwaukee Taskforce to convene leaders from Milwaukee County, the City of Milwaukee, and Milwaukee Public School District for the purpose of making practical recommendations to share costs and resources, collaborate, and coordinate on potential capital infrastructure and operational needs to better serve the people of Milwaukee

Sponsors: Nicholson, Johnson Jr., Shea, Ortiz-Velez, Taylor, Lipscomb Sr., Haas

and Moore Omokunde

Attachments: 20-137 RESOLUTION

20-137 FISCAL NOTE

20-137 COUNTY BOARD RESOLUTION

APPEARANCE:

Supervisor Marcelia Nicholson, District 5

Supervisors Johnson, Jr., Shea, Ortiz-Velez, and Taylor requested unanimous consent to be added as cosponsors of this Resolution. There being no objections by Committee members, it was so ordered by the Chairwoman.

A motion was made by Supervisor Johnson, Jr., that this Resolution be RECOMMENDED FOR ADOPTION. The motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Aye: 4 - Shea, Johnson Jr., Ortiz-Velez and Taylor

Abstain: 1 - Alexander

Length of Meeting: 9:01 a.m. to 9:07 a.m.

Adjourned,

Kelsey A. Evans
Committee Coordinator
Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk
Committee on Intergovernmental Relations

Deadline for the next meeting:

The Committee on Intergovernmental Relations meets at the call of the Committee Chairperson.

All original documents and agenda setting copies MUST be in the Committee

Coordinator's possession on or before Friday, February 21, 2020, at 4:00 p.m., for
a possible Thursday, March 12, 2020, meeting.