

# **Milwaukee County**

County Courthouse 901 N. 9th Street, Rm. 203 Milwaukee, WI 53233

## **Meeting Minutes**

### **Committee of the Whole**

. .

. .

Director of Research and Policy: Steve Cady, 414-278-4347 Monday, October 2, 2017 4:00 PM Room 203R

## Call To Order

Roll Call at 4:11 p.m.

- Present 16 West, Taylor (9), Mayo Sr., Schmitt, Johnson Jr., Weishan Jr., Dimitrijevic, Haas, Alexander, Staskunas, Moore Omokunde, Sartori, Sebring, Taylor (2), Wasserman and Lipscomb Sr.
- Excused 2 Cullen and Nicholson

# Supervisor Nicholson was not present at the time the roll was called, but appeared shortly thereafter.

### Presentation of the 2018 Recommended Budget by the County Executive

1 <u>17-655</u> From the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, submitting a request for information from the Office of the County Executive, and the Director, Department of Administrative Services, including discussion and questions regarding the 2018 Recommended Budget. (INFORMATIONAL ONLY UNLESS OTHERWISE DIRECTED BY THE COMMITTEE)

### APPEARANCES:

Teig Whaley-Smith, Director, Department of Administrative Services Scott Manske, Milwaukee County Comptroller, Office of the Comptroller Steve Cady, Director of Research and Policy, Research Services Division, Office of the Comptroller

A motion was made by Supervisor West that THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE request that:

+The Committee on Finance and Audit-Budget, work off the "base budget" for its deliberations on the 2018 annual County budget;

+The Milwaukee County Comptroller and Research Services Division staff prepare a report on the non-Behavioral Health Division "adjusted base budget", the restated 2017 Adopted Budget; +The report be delivered to the Committee on Finance and Audit-Budget at its October 9, 2017, meeting in a format that can be introduced as a substitute with a fiscal note;

+That all subsequent Supervisor amendments to the 2018 Recommended Budget be made off the adjusted base budget.

The motion FAILED by the following vote:

Aye: 6 - West, Mayo Sr., Schmitt, Weishan Jr., Haas and Lipscomb Sr.

- No: 6 Johnson Jr., Alexander, Staskunas, Moore Omokunde, Sartori and Sebring
- Excused: 6 Taylor (9), Dimitrijevic, Cullen, Nicholson, Taylor (2) and Wasserman

#### Length of Meeting: 4:11 p.m. to 6:33 p.m.

Adjourned,

Janelle M. Jensen Legislative Services Division Manager Committee of the Whole

<u>Deadline for the next meeting:</u> <u>The Committee of the Whole meets at the Call of the County Board Chairperson.</u>