Milwaukee County

COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
County Courthouse
901 N. 9th Street, Rm. 201
Milwaukee, WI 53233



Journal of Proceedings - Final

Monday, April 18, 2016 1:30 PM

SPECIAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Courthouse Rm 200

Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

1st, Theodore Lipscomb, Sr. - 2nd, Sequanna Taylor 3rd, Sheldon A. Wasserman - 4th, Marina Dimitrijevic 5th, Marcelia Nicholson - 6th, James "Luigi" Schmitt 7th, Michael Mayo, Sr. - 8th, David L. Sartori 9th, Steve F. Taylor - 10th, Supreme Moore Omokunde 11th, Dan Sebring - 12th, Peggy West 13th, Willie Johnson, Jr. - 14th, Jason Haas 15th, Eddie Cullen - 16th, John F. Weishan, Jr. 17th, Anthony Staskunas - 18th, Deanna Alexander

County Clerk Joseph J. Czarnezki

OATHS OF OFFICE

County Clerk Czarnezki called the meeting to order at 1:50 p.m.

CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

Present 18 - Alexander, Cullen, Dimitrijevic, Haas, Johnson Jr., Mayo Sr., Moore Omokunde, Nicholson, Sartori, Schmitt, Sebring, Staskunas, Taylor (2), Taylor (9), Wasserman, Weishan Jr., West and Lipscomb Sr.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

County Clerk Czarnezki led the Pledge of Allegiance.

CERTIFICATE OF RECEIPT AND FILING OF CALL FOR MEETING

Deputy County Clerk Christenson read the CERTIFICATE OF RECEIPT AND FILING OF CALL FOR MEETING and AFFIDAVIT AS TO PREPARATION/MAILING OF NOTICE FOR A SPECIAL MEETING into the record.

1 <u>16-249</u>

Certificate of Receipt and Filing of Call for Meeting of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors.

Attachments:

CALL FOR MEETING

AFFIDAVIT OF MAILING

ELECTION OF THE CHAIRPERSON OF THE COUNTY BOARD

2 16-250

Statement(s) of Candidacy for Chairperson - Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors.

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>LIPSCOMB CANDIDACY STATEMENT</u>

Supervisor Sartori NOMINATED Supervisor Lipscomb, Sr. for the position of Chairperson of the County Board.

NOMINATIONS were CLOSED and the Chairman ordered the Roll to be called for the election of the Chairperson of the Milwaukee County Board, with the following results:

FIRST BALLOT

For Supervisor Lipscomb, Sr.: Alexander, Cullen, Dimitrijevic, Haas, Johnson, Jr., Lipscomb, Sr., Mayo Sr., Moore Omokunde, Nicholson, Sartori, Schmitt, Sebring, Staskunas, Sequanna Taylor. Steven F. Taylor, Wasserman, Weishan, Jr., West – 18.

Supervisor Lipscomb, Sr. was ELECTED Chairman.

ELECTION OF THE FIRST VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE COUNTY BOARD

3 <u>16-251</u> Statement(s) of Candidacy for First Vice-Chairperson - Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors.

Attachments: WEST CANDIDACY STATEMENT

Supervisor Steven F. Taylor NOMINATED Supervisor Romo West for the position of First Vice-Chairperson of the County Board.

Supervisor Alexander NOMINATED Supervisor Johnson, Jr. for the position of First Vice-Chairperson of the County Board.

NOMINATIONS were CLOSED and the Chairman ordered the Roll to be called for the election of the First Vice-Chairperson of the Milwaukee County Board, with the following results:

FIRST BALLOT

For Supervisor Johnson, Jr.: Alexander, Johnson, Jr., Sebring, Staskunas, Wasserman - 5.

For Supervisor Romo West: Cullen, Dimitrijevic, Haas, Lipscomb, Sr., Mayo Sr., Moore Omokunde, Nicholson, Sartori, Schmitt, Sequanna Taylor. Steven F. Taylor, Weishan, Jr., West - 13.

Supervisor Romo West was ELECTED First Vice-Chairperson.

ELECTION OF THE SECOND VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE COUNTY BOARD

Milwaukee County Page 3

4 16-252 Statement(s) of Candidacy for Second Vice-Chairperson - Milwaukee

County Board of Supervisors.

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>STEVE TAYLOR CANDIDACY STATEMENT</u>

NICHOLSON CANDIDACY STATEMENT

Supervisor West NOMINATED Supervisor Steven F. Taylor for the position of Second Vice-Chairperson of the County Board.

NOMINATIONS were CLOSED and the Chairman ordered the Roll to be called for the election of the Second Vice-Chairperson of the Milwaukee County Board, with the following results:

FIRST BALLOT

For Supervisor Nicholson: Alexander, Dimitrijevic - 2.

For Supervisor Steven F. Taylor: Cullen, Haas, Lipscomb, Sr., Mayo Sr., Moore Omokunde, Nicholson, Sartori, Schmitt, Sebring, Staskunas, Sequanna Taylor. Steven F. Taylor, Wasserman, Weishan, Jr., West - 16.

Supervisor Steven F. Taylor was ELECTED Second Vice-Chairperson.

TRANSIT SYSTEM CLAIMS

5 Reference File established by the County Board Chairperson, relative

to Transit System Claims.

April 2016 Report - Transit Claims.pdf

A motion was made by Supervisor Mayo Sr. that all Transit Claims be DISALLOWED. The motion PREVAILED by unanimous vote.

COUNTY BOARD CITATIONS AND CERTIFICATES

6 Reference File established by the County Board Chairperson, relative

to County Board Citations/Certificates.

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>Citations & Certificates April</u>

A motion was made by Supervisor West that the Citations be ADOPTED. The motion PREVAILED by unanimous vote.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND REMARKS UNDER SPECIAL PRIVILEGE

ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by Supervisor West that this meering be ADJOURNED to a Date to Be Announced. The motion PREVAILED by unanimous vote.

The meeting adjourned at 2:10.