

## Milwaukee County Election Commission

Milwaukee County Courthouse Election Commission Room G10 414-278-4060

## **Meeting Minutes**

Chairperson: Tim Posnanski Elections Director: Michelle R. Hawley County Clerk: George L. Christenson

Thursday, May 4, 2023

9:00 am

Courthouse Rm G7/Microsoft Teams 901 N. 9th Street Milwaukee, WI

The Milwaukee County Board of Election Commissioners met as the County Board of Canvassers on Thursday, May 4, 2023 to convene the canvass of the May 2, 2023 Special Election. This election was called to fill the vacancy for Milwaukee County Supervisory District 14.

The meeting was convened by Chairman Posnanski at 9:07 a.m. Deputy County Clerk Stefan Dostanic called the roll:

Chairman Posnanski – Present Commissioner Fritz – Present Commissioner Martin – Present

Quorum was established.

Also present: Elections Director Michelle R. Hawley; Deputy Elections Director Jon Janowski

Elections Director Hawley reported the unofficial election results. A total of 886 ballots were cast in the 28 wards participating in the Special Election and voter turnout was 5.77 percent. Caroline Gomez-Tom received 66 percent of the votes and Angel Sanchez received slightly more than 33 percent of the votes. A few write-in votes were also cast.

Elections Director Hawley noted that the City of Milwaukee completed their canvass on the previous day and that Elections Commission staff would be ready to certify the canvass results by the afternoon of Friday, May 5. She noted that there were no provisional ballots cast in this election.

Chairman Posnanski then officially opened the canvass, and the Board agreed to meet the following day in-person at 2:00 pm to certify the canvass results.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:11 a.m. by Chairman Posnanski.