

Milwaukee County

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee

The Honorable Jean A. DiMotto – Chairperson The Honorable James A. Gramling, Jr., Vice-Chairperson

> The Honorable Charles N. Clevert, Jr. The Honorable Charles F. Kahn, Jr. The Honorable Frederick P. Kessler The Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Committee Coordinator: Allyson R. Smith Research and Policy Analyst: Steve Cady

- Friday, October 8, 2021	1:00 PM	County Legislative Information Center

VIRTUAL MEETING

This meeting was live-streamed on the County Legislative Information Center: https://milwaukeecounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

Call To Order

Roll Call at 1:10 p.m.

Present: 5 - Gramling Jr., Clevert Jr., Kahn Jr., Kessler, and Kuhnmuench

Excused: 1 - DiMotto

Honorable Judge DiMotto was not present at the time the roll was called, but appeared virtually later in the meeting.

1 <u>HRA21-419</u> From the Vice-Chairperson of the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee, providing a recap regarding the action taken by the Committee on Judiciary, Safety, and General Services, regarding the second proposed redistricting map, at its Special Virtual Meeting held on Thursday, October 7, 2021.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

APPEARANCE: Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk

Item 1 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

2	<u>HRA21-420</u>	Discussion regarding the proposed redistricting map option, if
		necessary.

(ACTION MAY BE TAKEN)

<u>Attachments:</u>	HRA21-420 VERSION K REDISTRICTING MAP (received 10/07/21)
	HRA21-420 INTERACTIVE VERSION K REDISTRICTING MAP (received 10/07/21)
	HRA21-420 POWERPOINT PRESENTATION (received 10/07/21)
	HRA21-420 VERSION K REDISTRICTING MAP WITHOUT STREETS (10/08/21)

APPEARANCES:

Allyson R. Smith Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk Supervisor John F. Weishan, Jr., District 16 Steve Cady, Director of Research and Policy, Research Services Division, Office of the Comptroller Jessica Fredrickson, Senior Office Manager, Office of Corporation Counsel

The following people appeared virtually, and spoke regarding item 2: Kevin J. Muhs, Executive Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC) Steve Taylor State Senator Lena C. Taylor, District 4

This file was temporarily laid over by unanimous consent of Committee members.

Director Muhs distributed Version K without street numbers to Committee members during the meeting. It is attached to the file as "HRA21-420 Version K Redistricting Map without Streets (10/08/21)."

A motion was made by Honorable Judge Kuhnmuench, and seconded by Honorable Judge Kahn, Jr., that the Version K be APPROVED, with further instruction to SEWRPC to incorporate the minor adjustments from the eComment submitted by Supervisor Felesia A. Martin. Honorable Judge Clevert, Jr., amended the motion to address concerns regarding Oak Creek and Franklin, verifying that property lines are not split. The motion PREVAILED by the following vote:

Ayes: 6 - Gramling Jr., Clevert Jr., Kahn Jr., Kessler, Kuhnmuench and DiMotto

3 <u>HRA21-300</u> eComments submitted to the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee via the County Legislative Information Center (CLIC).

(INFORMATION ONLY)

*The Office of the County Clerk collects eComments submitted via CLIC, and appends these official public records to HRA File No. 21-300 at the conclusion of each meeting.

Attachments: HRA21-300 eCOMMENTS (10/08/21)

APPEARANCE:

Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk

Kevin J. Muhs, Executive Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, appeared virtually, and spoke regarding Item 3.

The October 8, 2021, record of eComments is attached to this file as "HRA21-300 eComments (10/08/21)."

The October 8, 2021, record of eComments was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

The foregoing items were not considered in agenda order.

Length of Meeting: 1:10 p.m. to 3:28 p.m.

Adjourned,

Allyson R. Smith Committee Coordinator Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk Milwaukee County Legislative Services Division

Next Meeting:

<u>The next meeting of the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee is</u> <u>Friday, October 15, 2021, at 1:00 p.m.</u>