

Milwaukee County

Meeting Minutes Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee

The Honorable Jean A. DiMotto – Chairperson
The Honorable James A. Gramling, Jr., Vice-Chairperson

The Honorable Charles N. Clevert, Jr.
The Honorable Charles F. Kahn, Jr.
The Honorable Frederick P. Kessler
The Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Committee Coordinator: Allyson R. Smith Research and Policy Analyst: Emily Petersen

Monday, August 16, 2021

1:00 PM

County Legislative Information Center

VIRTUAL MEETING

This meeting was live-streamed on the County Legislative Information Center: https://milwaukeecounty.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

Oaths of Office were administered virtually to Independent Redistricting Committee members by Milwaukee County Clerk George Christenson prior to the Call to Order at 1:06 p.m.

Call To Order

Roll Call at 1:08 p.m.

Present: 6 - Clevert Jr., DiMotto, Gramling Jr., Kahn Jr., Kessler, and Kuhnmuench

1 <u>HRA21-301</u>

Election of Chairperson of the Independent Redistricting Committee. (ACTION ITEM)

A nomination was made by Honorable Judge Clevert, Jr., and seconded by Honorable Judge Kuhnmuench, that Honorable Judge DiMotto be named the Chairperson of the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee. The nomination was APPROVED by unanimous voice vote:

Ayes: 6 - Clevert Jr., DiMotto, Gramling Jr., Kahn Jr., Kessler and Kuhnmuench

2 HRA21-305

Introduction of Independent Redistricting Committee members and Milwaukee County staff.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

APPEARANCES:

Emily Petersen, Research and Policy Analyst, Research Services Division (RSD), Office of the Comptroller

Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel Brian Rothgery, Communications Director, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk

Stefan Dostanic, Deputy Clerk, Office of the County Clerk

George Christenson, Milwaukee County Clerk, Office of the County Clerk

Supervisor Sylvia Ortiz-Velez, District 12

Supervisor Steven Shea, District 8

Supervisor John F. Weishan, Jr., District 16

Kenneth Smith, Research and Policy Analyst, RSD, Office of the Comptroller

The following people appeared virtually and spoke regarding this item:

Elizabeth Larsen, Director of Administration, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional

Planning Commission (SEWRPC)

Kevin J. Muhs, Director, SEWRPC

Rob Merry, Chief Surveyor, SEWRPC

Item 2 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

3 HRA21-302

Independent Redistricting Committee's best practices, roles, and responsibilities for an effective redistricting process.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

APPEARANCE:

Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel

Item 3 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

4 HRA21-306

Review of redistricting principles.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

Attachments: HRA 21-306 WCA DECENNIAL REDISTRICTING HANDBOOK

APPEARANCE:

Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel

Kevin J. Muhs, Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, appeared virtually and spoke regarding this item.

Item 4 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

5 HRA21-307

Description of the Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning

Commission's role in the redistricting process.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

Attachments: HRA 21-307 SEWRPC PROPOSED COUNTY REDISTRICTING

SCHEDULE

APPEARANCES:

Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel

Robert Hullum, Communications Specialist, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk

Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk

Brian Rothgery, Communications Director, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk

Kevin J. Muhs, Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, appeared virtually and spoke regarding this item.

Item 4 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

6 HRA21-313

Coordination with municipalities on redistricting.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

APPEARANCES:

Brian Rothgery, Communications Director, Communications Division, Office of

the County Clerk

Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation

Item 6 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

7 HRA21-309

Use of estimation mapping in redistricting.

(ACTION MAY BE TAKEN BY THE COMMITTEE)

There were no appearances.

Item 7 was DISCUSSED WITH NO ACTION TAKEN.

8 HRA21-314

Future Independent Redistricting Committee meetings.

(INFORMATION ONLY)

APPEARANCES:

Margaret C. Daun, Corporation Counsel, Office of Corporation Counsel Allyson R. Smith, Committee Coordinator, Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk

Brian Rothgery, Communications Director, Communications Division, Office of the County Clerk

Emily Petersen, Research and Policy Analyst, Research Services Division, Office of the Comptroller

Kevin J. Muhs, Director, Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, appeared virtually and spoke regarding this item.

The following future meeting dates were established by the Committee as follows:

Friday, August 27, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, September 3, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, September 10, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, September 17, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, September 24, 2021, 10:00 a.m.*

Friday, October 1, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, October 8, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, October 15, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, October 22, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, October 29, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, November 5, 2021, 2:00 p.m.*

Friday, November 12, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Friday, November 19, 2021, 1:00 p.m.

Corporation Counsel Daun suggested the election of a Vice-Chairperson to preside over any meetings where the Chairperson is not available.

A nomination was made by Honorable Judge Clevert, Jr., and seconded by Honorable Judge Kuhnmuench, that Honorable Judge Gramling, Jr., be named the Vice-Chairperson of the Mllwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee. The nomination was APPROVED by unanimous voice vote:

Ayes: 6 - Clevert Jr., DiMotto, Gramling Jr., Kahn Jr., Kessler and Kuhnmuench

Length of Meeting: 1:08 p.m. to 3:03 p.m.

Adjourned,

Allyson R. Smith
Committee Coordinator
Legislative Services Division, Office of the County Clerk
Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee

Next Meeting:

The next meeting of the Milwaukee County Independent Redistricting Committee is Friday, August 27, 2021, at 1:00 p.m.

Milwaukee County Page 5