

March Board Cycle

Milwaukee County Parks 9480 Watertown Plank Rd. Wauwatosa, WI 53226 (414) 257-PARK

Date: February 19, 2021

To: Marcelia Nicholson, Chairwoman, County Board of Supervisors

From: Guy Smith, Executive Director, Milwaukee County Parks

Subject: Recognition of May 8, 2021 as World Migratory Bird Day in Milwaukee County (ACTION)

Issue

Milwaukee County Parks requests a proclamation from the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors that May 8, 2021 shall be recognized as World Migratory Bird Day in Milwaukee County.

Background

Milwaukee County has been a designated Bird City since 2015 and annually recognizes World Migratory Bird Day. World Migratory Bird Day is observed on the second Saturday in May with events and programs dedicated to introducing the public to migratory birds and ways to conserve them.

Milwaukee County Parks owns and manages nearly 75% of the remaining green space in Milwaukee County. Within that green space are several segments of the Lake Michigan Great Wisconsin Birding and Nature Trail including all the Milwaukee Lakeshore parks, Milwaukee River Parks, Whitnall Park and Wehr Nature Center which serve as important habitats for migratory birds. In 2019 Milwaukee County was designated an Important Bird Area by the Wisconsin Bird Conservation Initiative.

In Milwaukee County, the Urban Ecology Center annually hosts the Green Birding Challenge within the park system around Riverside Park. County Parks Natural Areas field staff will commemorate the day by participating in the challenge and encourages all citizens to attend one of the many local events.

Recommendation

Parks' Executive Director recommends approval of the resolution declaring May 8, 2021 World Migratory Bird Day in Milwaukee County.





Prepared By: Jeremy Lucas, Director of Administration & Planning, Milwaukee County Parks

Approved By: Guy Smith, Executive Director, Milwaukee County Parks __Guy Smith

Attachments

Attachment 1 – Fiscal Note

Attachment 2 – Resolution

Copy

- David Crowley, County Executive
- Mary Jo Meyers, Chief of Staff, County Executive's Office
- Sheldon Wasserman, Parks, Energy & Environment Chair, Supervisor District 3
- Steven Shea, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Vice-Chair, Supervisor District 8
- Felesia Martin, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Member, Supervisor District 7
- Sylvia Ortiz-Velez, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Member, Supervisor District 12
- Liz Sumner, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Member, Supervisor District 1
- Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board
- Sherri Jordan, Interim Director, Department of Administrative Services
- Joseph Lamers, Fiscal & Budget Director, DAS
- Vince Masterson, Fiscal & Strategic Asset Coordinator, DAS
- Pamela Bryant, Capital Finance Manager, Comptroller's Office
- Justin Rodriguez, Capital Finance Analyst, Comptroller's Office
- Kelsey Evans, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk
- Emily Peterson, Research & Policy Analyst, Office of the Comptroller
- Anthony Rux, Budget & Management Analyst, DAS-PSB



