COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE INTER-OFFICE COMMUNICATION

DATE: January 13, 2021

TO: Marcelia Nicholson, Chairperson, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

FROM: Karl Stave, Acting Director, AE&ES Section, DAS-FM

SUBJECT: 2022 DATCP Staffing Grant of the Milwaukee County Land Conservation Department:

From the Acting Director, Architecture, Engineering, and Environmental Services Section, Facilities Management Division, Department of Administrative Services, requesting authorization to apply for and accept 2022 Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection support grants, in the approximate amount of \$75,000, to partially offset the salaries, training, travel, and office expenses of the Land Conservation Department

Action Item

POLICY

The Architecture, Engineering, and Environmental Services Section Director is requesting authorization to have the County Conservationist apply for and accept Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) support grants in 2022.

BACKGROUND

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection offers Wisconsin counties grants to help defray staffing costs of land conservation departments.

The Committee on Parks, Energy and Environment also serves as the Land Conservation Committee and the Environmental Services Unit within the Architecture, Engineering & Environmental Services Section of Facilities Management Division serves as the Land Conservation Department. The Director of the Environmental Services Unit serves as County Conservationist.

Milwaukee County receives this grant annually to help pay salaries, training, travel, and office expenses of the Land Conservation Department (LCD).

RECOMMENDATION

To foster the ongoing work of the LCD it is recommended that the Architecture, Engineering, and Environmental Services Section Director be authorized to have the County Conservationist apply for and accept the staffing and cost share grants offered by DATCP in 2022.

Prepared by: Timothy Detzer, P.E., Senior Environmental Engineer

2022 DATCP Staffing Grant January 13, 2021, Page 2

Approved by:

Karl Stave, Director

AE&ES Section, DAS-FM

cc: David Crowley, County Executive

Mary Jo Meyers, Chief of Staff, County Executive

Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board

Scott Manske, Comptroller

Pam Bryant, Comptroller Office

Julie Landry, Director, DAS

Margaret Daun, Corporation Counsel

Janelle M. Jensen, Committee Coordinator, County Board

Kelsey A. Evans, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Coordinator