

July Board Cycle

Milwaukee County Parks 9480 Watertown Plank Rd. Wauwatosa, WI 53226 (414) 257-PARK

Date: June 17, 2020

To: Marcelia Nicholson, Chairwoman, County Board of Supervisors

From: Guy Smith, Executive Director, Milwaukee County Parks

Subject: AmeriCorps Grant – Trail & Natural Area Restoration Crew (INFO)

Issue

An informational report related to an AmeriCorps grant and support for Parks natural areas and trails.

Background

Milwaukee County Parks has limited staff to maintain trails and natural areas and thus seeks partnerships and outside funding to support these areas. River Revitalization Foundation (RRF), a non-profit land trust, and Milwaukee County Parks have co-sponsored AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) crews in the past and have again applied to support trail and natural areas restoration in the Milwaukee River Greenway, which is one of the County Parks most popular hiking areas.

The AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps (NCCC) crew has been requested to conduct natural areas and trail restoration work on Milwaukee County Parks owned land in the Milwaukee River Greenway (Gordon, Pleasant Valley, Kern, Estabrook, and Lincoln Parks). No financial match is required but Parks and RRF will co-supervise any crews. It is estimated that, if awarded, workers will repair 1-3 staircases, address erosion issues on trails, build new short segments of trails, remove invasive plants, and plant native species for a total of 500+ work hours.

Recommendation

No recommendation, report for informational purposes only.

Prepared By: Jessica Wineberg, Trails Coordinator, Milwaukee County Parks

Approved By: Guy Smith, Executive Director, Milwaukee County Parks





Copy

- David Crowley, County Executive
- Mary Jo Meyers, Chief of Staff, County Executive's Office
- Sheldon Wasserman, Parks, Energy & Environment Chair, Supervisor District 3
- Steven Shea, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Vice-Chair, Supervisor District 8
- Felesia Martin, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Member, Supervisor District 7
- Sylvia Ortiz-Velez, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Member, Supervisor District 12
- Liz Sumner, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee Member, Supervisor District 1
- Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board
- Julie Landry, Director, Department of Administrative Services
- Joseph Lamers, Fiscal & Budget Director, DAS
- Kelsey Evans, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk
- Emily Peterson, Research & Policy Analyst, Office of the Comptroller
- Pam Mathews, Budget & Management Analyst, DAS-PSB
- Lindsey Peterson, Budget & Management Analyst, DAS-PSB



