

Milwaukee County

Department of Human Resources

INTER-OFFICE COMMUNICATION

Date: October 22, 2019

To: Supervisor James "Luigi" Schmitt, Chairperson, Finance & Audit Committee

From: Julie Landry, Chief Human Resources Officer

Subject: Department of Human Resources Budget (1140) Budget Referral Response

On October 14, 2019, during the course of the Department of Human Resources (DHR) Budget (1140) hearing, Board Supervisors requested the following information:

- > Chairperson Schmitt requested information regarding whether Deputy Sheriffs within the Office of the Sheriff are eligible for the Rule of 75.
- Chairperson Schmitt requested information regarding the number of employees eligible for the Rule of 75.

The information below is the response to the Supervisor's requests.

Deputy Sheriffs and the Rule of 75

Milwaukee Deputy Sheriffs' Association (MDSA) members need to have been hired by 01/01/1994 to be eligible for the Rule of 75. There are some active Sheriffs eligible remaining in the employee population.

Members Eligible for Rule of 75

Retirement Plan Services processed a report and identified approximately 965 active Milwaukee County ERS (Employees' Retirement System) members that are eligible for the Rule of 75. Listed below is the breakout of that number:

Code	Employee Type	Approximate Number of Eligible Members
AT	AMCA-Association of Milwaukee County Attorneys	20
ВТ	MBTC-Milwaukee Building and Construction Trades Council	20
DC	AFSCME DC48-American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees-District Council 48	545
NR	NR-Non-Represented Employees	310
NS	WFNHP-Wisconsin Federation of Nurses & Health Professionals	47
SH	MDSA-Milwaukee Deputy Sheriffs' Association	19
TC	TEAMCO-Technicians, Engineers and Architects of Milwaukee County	4

CC: County Executive Chris Abele

Raisa Koltun, Chief of Staff Finance & Audit Committee

Kelly Bablitch, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors Chief of Staff

Teig Whaley-Smith, Director of Administrative Services

Stephen Cady, Comptroller's Office Janelle Jensen, Committee Clerk

Erika Bronikowski, Interim Director, Retirement Plan Services