## COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE INTEROFFICE COMMUNICATION

DATE

October 10, 2019

TO

Theodore Lipscomb, Chairman, County Board of Supervisors

**FROM** 

Joseph Lamers, Director, Office of Performance, Strategy and Budget

SUBJECT: Ordinance Changes Chapter 47.32 Milwaukee County Zoo Admission Fees

The 2020 Milwaukee County Recommended budget includes a \$0.50 increase in admission fees across all categories at the Milwaukee County Zoo. This fee is effective June 1st, 2020. The included resolution/ordinance requests changes be adopted to Chapter 47.32 of the Milwaukee County Code of General Ordinances to reflect the new admission rate.

## Issue

The Milwaukee County Zoo Department (9500) is requesting the authorization to raise admission fees by \$0.50 on June 1<sup>st</sup>, 2020, generating additional revenue of about \$308,000. The 2019 budget included a \$0.75 admission fee increase.

Background

The revenue increase includes the revenue split with the Zoological Society of \$50,000. The split with the Society, which passes membership sales in direct cash support. The proposed increase will coincide with the opening of the new hippopotamus exhibit. The admission increase is based on the success of the renovated elephant exhibit in previous years to increase Zoo attendance.

## Recommendation

The Department of Administrative Services – Office of Performance, Strategy and Budget recommends the \$0.50 admission fee in the 2020 budget.

Fiscal Impact

The implementation of the fee increase will capture additional revenue in the 2020 budget based on increased attendance, be approved.

Joseph Lamers, Director

Office of Performance, Strategy, and Budget

Joe Janus, 856

Department of Administrative Services

Cc:

Chris Abele, County Executive

Raisa Koltun, Chief of Staff, County Executive's Office

Supervisor James 'Luigi' Schmitt, Chair, Finance and Audit Committee

Supervisor Willie Johnson, Jr. Vice Chair, Finance and Audit Committee

Supervisor Jason Haas, Chair, Parks Energy & Environment Committee

Supervisor Eddie Cullen, Chair, Personnel Committee

Supervisor Supreme Moore Omokunde, Chair, Health & Human Needs Committee

Supervisor Sequanna Taylor, Chair, Intergovernmental Relations Committee Supervisor Sheldon Wasserman, Finance and Audit Committee Janelle Jensen, Manager Legislative Services Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller