## **COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE**

INTEROFFICE COMMUNICATION

**DATE**: 11/16/2018

**TO**: Theodore Lipscomb, Sr., Chairman, County Board of Supervisors

**FROM**: Christine Westrich, Director, Office of Emergency Management

**SUBJECT**: From the Director of the Office of Emergency Management (OEM) requesting

authorization for amendment to Chapter 15.17 of the Milwaukee County

Code of Ordinances

## **BACKGROUND**

Chapter 15.17 of the Milwaukee County Code of Ordinances provides for direct cash disbursements in certain cases. Authority for Imprest Funds is provided to various County Departments with a maximum level available for disbursement at any given point in time. The code as related to Office of Emergency Management is no longer reflective of the department's petty cash needs.

## REQUEST

Since the last modification to Chapter 15.17 of the Milwaukee County Code of Ordinances, the Office of Emergency Management (OEM) petty cash needs have changed.

OEM has relocated within the same building as the Central Business Office of the Department of Administrative Services (DAS); therefore, the department is able to utilize DAS's Imprest Fund as necessary. DAS's Imprest Fund balance is sufficient for both departments.

The amount of authorized Imprest fund balance is \$200 for OEM; however, the department will utilize the Imprest Fund of the Department of Administrative Services as necessary.

Through the increased use of purchase cards (P-cards), the need for Petty Cash has decreased for both departments. Use of P-cards is a best financial practice by increasing controls over expenditures and they are more secure.

It is requested that an administrative fund transfer be authorized to close the existing Imprest Fund and modify the Code of Ordinances to reflect this change.

## **RECOMMENDATION**

Approval of the attached Resolution and related Fund Transfer.

Christine Westrich Director, Office of Emergency Management Attachments: RESOLUTION FISCAL NOTE

**FUND TRANSFER** 

cc: Chris Abele, County Executive

Supervisor James "Luigi" Schmitt, Chair, Committee on Finance & Audit

Finance and Audit Committee Members

Scott Manske, Comptroller

Raisa Koltun, Chief of Staff, Office of the County Executive Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board of Supervisors

Teig Whaley-Smith, Director, Department of Administrative Services

Joseph Lamers, Director, DAS-Performance, Strategy and Budget (DAS-PSB)

Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director

Josh Scott, Fiscal and Management Analyst, DAS-DAS-PSB Shanin Brown, Committee Clerk, Finance & Audit Committee