COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE

Inter-Office Communication

Date: June 23, 2017

To: Supervisor Theodore Lipscomb, Sr., Chairman of the Board of Supervisors

From: Jeanne Dorff, Interim Director, Department of Health and Human Services

Prepared by James Mathy, Housing Administrator

Subject: Report from the Interim Director, Department of Health and Human Services,

requesting authorization to sign Cooperation Agreements for years 2018, 2019 and 2020 designating Milwaukee County as an Urban County in order to receive

Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds

<u>Issue</u>

Federal Housing and Urban Development (HUD) regulations require the local governing body (Milwaukee County) to enter into cooperation agreements with enough jurisdictions for years 2018, 2019, and 2020, to achieve a combined population of 200,000.

Section V.B. of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Notice CPD-17-03, governing cooperation agreements for urban counties under above referenced programs, requires a statement from a participating county's legal counsel that the terms of the agreement are fully authorized under state and local law. Similar to past years, Corporation Counsel prepared the agreement and will be providing the required legal opinion.

The last cooperation agreement for years 2015, 2016 and 2017 was signed in 2014. The current cooperation agreement for years 2018, 2019, and 2020 is similar to the previous cooperation agreements the municipalities signed (see attachment A).

Background

Milwaukee County was designated as an urban county in December of 1977. In order to be designated as an urban county, Milwaukee County was required to enter into cooperation agreements with enough jurisdictions to achieve a combined population of 200,000. Fourteen suburban municipalities signed cooperation agreements and participated in the program in 1978. In 1979, a 15th municipality was added, and in 1982, a 16th was added. The cooperation agreements must be signed every three years. The current participating municipalities are:

Bayside Hales Corners
Brown Deer Oak Creek
Cudahy St. Francis
Fox Point Shorewood

Franklin South Milwaukee Glendale West Milwaukee Greendale Whitefish Bay

Greenfield

The cities of Milwaukee, Wauwatosa and West Allis each contain populations greater than 50,000 and are entitled to receive their own Block Grants.

Milwaukee County receives over \$1.3 million each year to conduct community development and housing activities. It is the County's responsibility to administer, coordinate, and oversee the community development program to ensure that the program is carried out in accordance with national policies and objectives. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is the federal agency responsible for allocating funds and monitoring compliance with national policies and objectives.

Administrative costs, as required by HUD, can only reflect less than 20 percent of the grant. The remainder of the grant is divided equally between the County and the participating municipalities. The County's half of the grant is used to fund activities designed to meet needs which are generally County-wide in nature serving the participating jurisdictions. The other half of the grant is reserved for the participating municipalities to conduct activities designed to meet specific local needs. All projects must meet the National Objectives of the Act.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors authorize the Interim Director to sign Cooperation Agreements for years 2018, 2019 and 2020 designating Milwaukee County as an Urban County in order to receive Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds.

Fiscal Impact

There is no fiscal impact for this agreement. A fiscal note form is attached.

Jeanne Dorff, Interim Director

Department of Health and Human Services

Attachment

cc: County Executive Chris Abele
Raisa Koltun, County Executive's Office
Kelly Bablitch, County Board
County Supervisor Steve Taylor
Steve Kreklow, Director, Office of Performance, Strategy & Budget
Steve Cady, Research Director, Comptroller's Office
Lisa Wozny, Budget Analyst - DAS
Katarina Lucas, Research & Policy Analyst - Comptroller's Office