

CHRIS ABELE, MILWAUKEE COUNTY EXECUTIVE JOHN DARGLE, JR., DIRECTOR OF PARKS, RECREATION AND CULTURE

Date: October 3, 2016

To: Jason Haas, Chair, Parks, Energy and Environment Committee

From: John Dargle, Jr., CPRP, Director, Department of Parks, Recreation and

Culture (DPRC)

Subject: Parks Master Planning Update - INFORMATIONAL

ISSUE

A verbal informational update on the 10-year Park System Master Plan and the 2050 Park and Open Space Plan.

BACKGROUND

In November of 2015, DPRC entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Southeast Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission (SEWRPC) to assist in completing its 2050 Park and Open Space Plan and 10-year Parks System Master Plan.

The 10-Year Parks System Master Plan will provide recommendations for facilities. programs and services, maintenance and operation, and administration and management of the County park system. The 2050 Park & Open Space Plan will address long-range considerations including the preservation of environmental corridors, conservation lands, the recreational use of water bodies, and make recommendations on the distribution of parks and recreational facilities throughout the County.

DPRC has launched a community outreach effort for both planning processes under the umbrella of the "Parks with Purpose" campaign. Activities to date include the household survey which closed on September 9th, an initial round of community workshops, and the posting of an online survey on October 10th. The online survey will close on November 7th.

RECOMMENDATION

No action requested. Informational item unless further action required.

Prepared by: Jen Francis, Chief of Administration and External Affairs



Approved by:

John Dargle, Jr., CPRP, Director

Attachments:

Master Planning Update Presentation

Copy: Chris Abele, County Executive

Theodore Lipscomb, Sr., Chairman, County Board of Supervisors
Raisa Koltun, Chief of Staff, County Executive's Office
Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board of Supervisors
Jason Haas, Chair, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee
Marcelia Nicholson, Vice-Chair, Parks, Energy & Environment Committee
Jeremy Lucas, Fiscal Mgt. Analyst, Admin & Fiscal Affairs/DAS
Scott Manske, Comptroller, Office of the Comptroller
Allyson Smith, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk
Jessica Janz-McKnight, Research & Policy Analyst, Office of the Comptroller