SOUTHEASTERN WISCONSIN REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

W239 N1812 ROCKWOOD DRIVE • PO BOX 1607 • WAUKESHA, WI 53187-1607•

Serving the Counties of:

Æ

(262) 547-1103

TELEPHONE (262) 547-6721

FAX

KENOSHA MILWAUKEE OZAUKEE RACINE WALWORTH WASHINGTON WAUKESHA

STAFF MEMORANDUM

At the request of Transportation, Public Works, and Transit Committee Chair Michael Mayo, Sr., Commission staff prepared the attached presentation to address the following questions related to transit funding in Milwaukee County and the State of Wisconsin:

- How many vehicles would be subject to a wheel tax within the City of Milwaukee and within the remainder of Milwaukee County?
- Are there any cities or counties (including Boston, New York, and Philadelphia) that have vehicle-related taxes or fees that are focused on workers?
- What is the process to create a regional transit authority and achieve dedicated funding for transit in Milwaukee County and Southeastern Wisconsin?