COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE INTEROFFICE COMMUNICATION

DATE: September 13, 2013

TO : Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

FROM : County Board Chairwoman Marina Dimitrijevic

SUBJECT: Reappointment of Rafael Acevedo to Milwaukee County Parks Advisory Commission

Pursuant to the provisions of Adopted County Board Resolution File No. 07-170, and subject to confirmation by this honorable body, I am pleased to reappoint Mr. Rafael Acevedo to the Milwaukee County Parks Advisory Commission, for a term expiring August 1, 2016. The Parks Advisory Commission provides policy and funding guidance to the County Board on issues such as budget, preservation and maintenance needs of the County Parks.

Since 2007, Mr. Acevedo has worked as Senior Donor Services Officer for the Greater Milwaukee Foundation, an agency comprised of more than 1,100 individual and family charitable funds throughout metropolitan Milwaukee. In this role, Mr. Acevedo works with grants, donors, and local nonprofits. He manages funds and advises regarding investments.

Mr. Acevedo previously served as Executive Director of Public Allies Milwaukee and as Executive Director of Latino Health Organization. He understands the significant connection between public health and a strong Milwaukee County Parks system.

Mr. Acevedo's community involvement includes Partnership for Philanthropic Planning of Southeast Wisconsin, Rotary Amigos of Milwaukee, Milwaukee Mosaic Partnership, Future Milwaukee at Marquette University, the UWM Alumni Association, and the Helen Bader Institute for Nonprofit Management Diversity Committee. Mr. Acevedo's resume is attached for your information.

His rich background in leadership, finances, public health and community agencies informs Mr. Acevedo's work on the Parks Advisory Commission. I urge your support of this reappointment, and look forward to seeing the continued results of the work of the Commission.

Marina Dimitrijevic

Chairwoman,

County Board of Supervisors

Marina D.

cc: Rafael Acevedo

County Executive Chris Abele

Alexis Gassenhuber, Committee Clerk, Parks, Energy and Environment Committee Jessica Janz-McKnight, Policy Research Analyst, Parks, Energy and Environment Committee

John Dargle, Interim Director, Department of Parks, Recreation and Culture