## Mental Health Redesign and Implementation Task Force

DATE:	March 7, 2012
ТО:	Peggy Romo West, Chairperson, Committee on Health and Human Needs Lee Holloway, Chairperson, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
FROM:	Mental Health Redesign and Implementation Task Force (MHRITF) Executive Committee and Action Team Co-Chairs

## SUBJECT: Status Report on the Behavioral Health Division New Facility Options

We, the undersigned leaders in the ongoing mental health redesign efforts, write in support of the Status Report on the Behavioral Health Division New Facility Options submitted on February 8 by Mr. Héctor Colón, Director of the Department of Health and Human Services. The report rightly asserts that redesign implementation plans need to be formalized by stakeholders, subjected to fiscal analysis, and reviewed by policymakers before the County government undertakes consideration of proposals for new construction or significant reconfiguration of Behavioral Health Division facilities. It would be premature and potentially reckless to push forward with facility planning while the public deliberations about the future of person-centered, recovery-oriented services are still very much underway.

The Mental Health Redesign Summit on February 14 marked a point of transition for the Task Force, the five Action Teams, and the multitude of public and private entities represented therein who have invested in these efforts since last summer. With support and advice from national consultants in conjunction with the Summit activities, all parties are now eager to act upon the visions and affirmed recommendations that were presented and warmly received at the January meeting of the Committee on Health and Human Needs. Future discussions on facility planning and potential construction projects should be responsive – rather than instructive – to forthcoming activities of the Action Teams and Task Force.

Respectfully Submitted:

Karen F

Karen Avery IndependenceFirst MHRITF Executive Committee Co-Chair, Quality Action Team

Beth Ann Burazin Our Space Co-Chair, Person-Centered Care Action Team

Barbara Beckert Disability Rights Wisconsin MHRITF Executive Committee

e Courder

Lee Carroll Outreach Community Health Center MHRITF Executive Committee Co-Chair, Continuum of Care Action Team

Kustince finnel

Kristina Finnel Mental Health America of Wisconsin Co-Chair, Community Linkages Action Team

Peter Hoeffel NAMI of Greater Milwaukee Co-Chair, Person-Centered Care Action Team

Man

Mary Neubauer Community Advocates Co-Chair, Continuum of Care Action Team

apper

Milwaukee Health Care Partnership MHRITF Executive Committee

E. Ce

Scott Gelzer U Co-Chair, Workforce Action Team

Henry Kuhath Phoenix Care Systems Co-Chair, Quality Action Team

Nown

Tom Nowak Midwest Community Services MHRITF Executive Committee

cc: County Executive Chris Abele Supervisor Joe Sanfelippo Terrence Cooley, County Board Patrick Farley, Director, DAS Pam Bryant, Interim Fiscal & Budget Administrator, DAS Jerry Heer, Department of Audit CJ Pahl, Assistant Fiscal & Budget Administrator, DAS Antionette Thomas-Bailey, Fiscal & Management Analyst Jennifer Collins, Analyst, County Board Staff Jodi Mapp, Committee Clerk, County Board Staff