COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Behavioral Health Division Administration INTER-OFFICE COMMUNICATION

DATE: June 27, 2011

TO: Supervisor Peggy Romo-West, Chairperson, Health and Human Needs

Committee

FROM: Geri Lyday, Interim Director, Department of Health and Human Services

Prepared by Paula Lucey, Administrator, Behavioral Health Division

SUBJECT: An Informational Report from the Interim Director, Department of

Health and Human Services, Regarding Appointments to the Mental

Health Redesign Task Force

Issue

In April 2011, the Couth Board of Supervisors passed a Resolution supporting efforts to redesign the Milwaukee County mental health system and creating a Mental Health Redesign Task Force to provide the County Board with data-driven implementation and planning initiatives (File #11-173). Included in the final Resolution was a directive for the Interim Director, Department of Health and Human Needs, and the Administrator, Behavioral Health Division, to create and make appointments to the Mental Health Redesign Task Force from stakeholder organizations. It was also requested that the first report be brought to the Health and Human Needs Committee in June 2011 and include committee membership, anticipated planning structure and a timeline.

Background

Within the past year, a number of reports, studies and advisory committees have emerged with recommendations related to the future design of the Behavioral Health System in Milwaukee County, including recommendations regarding public and private inpatient, outpatient and community care services. The existing reports and studies represent the work of multiple public and private planning efforts. The formation of this Task Force recognizes that it is now time to coordinate those recommendations and shift the activity to prioritization and implementation of new mental health system design ideas and innovative strategies.

Discussion

The BHD Administrator has spent significant time over the past couple of months considering the work and make-up of the Mental Health Redesign Task Force (Task Force). The composition of the proposed Task Force has been established to provide all stakeholders and involved parties an opportunity to partner and shape this important work. Such a partnership is essential as this important discussion and work moves forward. It must build on the other work done with BHD partners so that the project will encompass the entire Milwaukee area behavioral health system and not just the services offered by Milwaukee County government. Below is a list of the proposed membership and structure for the Task Force.

Task Force membership by title:

- 1. County Board Supervisor
- 2. County Board Supervisor
- 3. Milwaukee Director of Disabilities Rights Wisconsin
- 4. Medical College of Wisconsin
- 5. Health Officer, City of Milwaukee County
- 6. Representative from Medical Society of Milwaukee County
- 7. Executive Director, Milwaukee Health Care Partnership
- 8. Law Enforcement
- 9. Community Provider with a focus on Developmental Disabilities
- 10. Community Provider with a focus on Mental Illness
- 11. Foundation Representative
- 12. Consumer
- 13. Consumer or family member with focus on Development Disabilities
- 14. Hospital Representative
- 15. Representative from a Federally Qualified Health Center
- 16. Advocate with a focus on Developmental Disabilities
- 17. Advocate with a focus on Mental Illness
- 18. Representative from Behavioral Healthcare Consortium
- 19. State of Wisconsin Secretary of Health or designee
- 20. State Director of Medicaid
- 21. State Elected Official

Task Force Structure:

To provide overall direction and to ensure communication and timely progress, an Executive Committee will be developed. The Executive Committee will be:

- 1) Interim Director of Health and Human Services
- 2) Administrator of Behavioral Health Division
- 3) Executive Director, Disability Rights Wisconsin Milwaukee
- 4) Executive Director, Milwaukee Health Care Partnership

- 5) One Hospital Representative
- 6) One Community Provider Representative
- 7) One County Board Supervisor
- 8) One Representative from County Executive office
- 9) Consumer
- 10) Task Force Co-Chair

In addition, staff from key support departments such as the Department of Audit, Department of Administrative Services, County Board staff and County Executive staff will be actively monitoring the Task Force and providing any additional support.

The overall activities will be co-chaired by the Administrator of the Behavioral Health Division and a private partner, Mr. Pete Carlson, Administrator at Aurora Behavioral Health. The Executive Committee will seek additional administrative support and/or technical support as needed. Also, guidelines will be established to help keep everyone consistent regarding the Committee(s) purpose, outcomes, timeframes, meeting ground rules, etc and work toward consensus on major concepts and issues.

The Task Force will have action groups to focus on key issues:

- Patient Centered Care
- Continuum of Care
- Community Linkages
- Funding
- Quality
- Workforce

Maintaining the focus on public/private partnership, the Executive Committee will work to obtain members for the work groups that have expertise in both the public and private sectors. These six action groups will all have chairs or co-chairs that report back to the entire Task Force. The Executive Committee may also determine that additional members are needed for the Task Force.

Next Steps

To achieve endorsement of this work and solicit membership, the County Executive sent letters to key stakeholders to ask for their support and participation.

The Executive Committee will meet on July 6, 2011 and the full Task Force will meet on July 14, 2011. The Task Force meetings will be run as public meetings and appropriately noticed.

Recommendation

This is an informational report only. No action is necessary.

Geri Lyday, Interim Director

Department of Health and Human Services

cc: Chris Abele, Milwaukee County Executive

Patrick Farley, Administrator - DAS

CJ Pahl, Interim Fiscal & Budget Administrator - DAS

Terrence Cooley, County Board Chief of Staff

Antionette Thomas-Bailey, Analyst - DAS

Jennifer Collins, County Board Staff

Jodi Mapp, County Board Staff