## COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

- Date: October 30, 2023
- To:Chairwoman Marcelia NicholsonSupervisor Felesia A. Martin, Chair, Committee on Audit
- **From:** Jennifer L. Folliard, Director of Audits
- **Subject:** Status Report Travel Card Program Audit (File No. 23-323)

At its meeting for the March 2023 cycle, the Committee on Audit reviewed our audit report, "Travel Cards: Our Review Found Issues with Record Retention: the New Financial System will Help but not Solve the Issue," issued in February 2023, and the resolution noting County Board concurrence with the report recommendations was adopted.

Attached is a copy of the "ASD Highlights" page for general information about our audit. The full audit report can be accessed on the Comptroller's website via the following link:

2023TravelCardReport1.pdf (milwaukee.gov)

We are facilitating the submission of the Office of the Comptroller – Payroll Division's first status report regarding its progress toward implementation of the five recommendations made in our audit report. Based on Payroll management's comments in the updated status report, copy attached, the Payroll Division has implemented two of the five recommendations and significant progress has been made toward implementation of the remaining three recommendations.

This status report is informational. Due to the remaining efforts required to fully implement our recommendations, we will facilitate submission of Payroll's next status report for the June 2024 committee meeting cycle.

Junifer J. Facciard

Jennifer L. Folliard

## PAG/cah

## Attachments

cc: Scott B. Manske, CPA, Milwaukee County Comptroller Audit Committee Members David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive Sue Drummond, Director Payroll and HRIS Interface, Office of the Comptroller Aaron Hertzberg, Director, Department of Administrative Services Regina Flores, Director, DAS – Procurement Division Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board Staff Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller Ciara Miller, Research Analyst, Office of the Comptroller Janelle Jensen, Manager, Legislative Services Division Allyson Smith, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk