COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

Date: March 17, 2023

To:Chairwoman Marcelia NicholsonSupervisor Felesia A. Martin, Chair, Committee on Audit

From: Jennifer L. Folliard, Director of Audits

Subject: Status Report – Purchasing Card Program Audit (File No. 22-397)

At its meeting for the March 2022 cycle, the Committee on Audit reviewed our audit report, "Procurement's Purchasing Card Program: Efficiency is Achieved but More Oversight and Updated Guidelines are Needed," issued in February 2022," and the resolution indicating County Board concurrence with the report recommendations was adopted.

Attached is a copy of the "ASD Highlights" page for general information about our audit. The full audit report can be accessed on the Comptroller's website via the following link:

<u>2022-PurchasingCardReport.pdf (milwaukee.gov)</u>

We are facilitating the submission of the Department of Administrative Services – Procurement Division's second status report regarding its progress toward implementation of the ten recommendations made in our audit report. Based on Procurement Division management's comments in the updated status report, copy attached, it is nearing completion on some recommendations and it has made significant progress on others. However, at this point all ten recommendations remain open.

This status report is informational. Due to the remaining efforts required to fully implement our recommendations, we will facilitate submission of Procurement's next status report planned for the December 2023 committee meeting cycle.

Imper J. Lattiand

Jennifer L. Folliard

PAG/cah

Attachments

cc: Scott B. Manske, CPA, Milwaukee County Comptroller Audit Committee Members David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive Aaron Hertzberg, Director, Department of Administrative Services Regina Flores, Director, DAS – Procurement Division Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board Staff Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller Ciara Miller, Research Analyst, Office of the Comptroller Janelle Jensen, Manager, Legislative Services Division Allyson Smith, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk