COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

DATE: February 21, 2011

TO: Supervisor Lee Holloway, Chairman, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

FROM: Geri Lyday, Interim Director, Department of Health and Human Services

SUBJECT: FROM THE INTERIM DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, REQUESTING AUTHORIZATION TO SIGN COOPERATION AGREEMENTS FOR YEARS 2012, 2013 AND 2014 DESIGNATING MILWAUKEE COUNTY AS AN URBAN COUNTY FOR THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT (CDBG)

<u>Issue</u>

Federal Housing and Urban Development (HUD) regulations require the local governing body (Milwaukee County) to enter into cooperation agreements with enough jurisdictions for years 2012, 2013, and 2014 to achieve a combined population of 200,000.

Section V.B. of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Notice CPD-10-02 governing cooperation agreements for urban counties under above referenced programs, requires a statement from a participating county's legal counsel that the terms of the agreement are fully authorized under state and local law. (See attached letter from Corporation Counsel).

The last cooperation agreement for years 2009, 2010, and 2011 was signed in 2008. The current cooperation agreement for years 2012, 2013 and 2014 is similar to the previous cooperation agreements the municipalities signed.

Background

Milwaukee County was designated as an urban county in December of 1977. In order to be designated as an urban county, Milwaukee County was required to enter into cooperation agreements with enough jurisdictions to achieve a combined population of 200,000. Fourteen suburban municipalities signed cooperation agreements and participated in the program in 1978. In 1979, a fifteenth municipality was added, and in 1982, a sixteenth was added. The cooperation agreements must be signed every three years. The current participating municipalities are:

Bayside Brown Deer Cudahy Hales Corners Oak Creek River Hills

Fox Point	St. Francis
Franklin	Shorewood
Glendale	South Milwaukee
Greendale	West Milwaukee
Greenfield	Whitefish Bay

The city of Milwaukee, Wauwatosa and West Allis each contain populations greater than 50,000 and are entitled to receive their own Block Grants.

Milwaukee County receives over \$1.8 million each year to conduct community development and housing activities. It is the County's responsibility to administer, coordinate, and oversee the community development program to ensure that the program is carried out in accordance with national policies and objectives. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is the federal agency responsible for allocating funds and monitoring compliance with national policies and objectives.

Administrative costs, as required by HUD, can amount to less than 20% of the grant. The remainder of the grant is divided equally between the County and the participating municipalities. The County's half of the grant is used to fund activities designed to meet needs which are generally County-wide in nature. The other half of the grant is reserved for the participating municipalities to conduct activities designed to meet specific local needs.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the County Board of Supervisors authorize the Interim Director to carry out all steps necessary to get the cooperation agreements signed.

Fiscal Effect

The action has no fiscal effect.

Sei X. Xydoy

Geri Lyday, Interim Director Department of Health and Human Services

cc: Marvin Pratt, Interim County Executive Terrence Cooley, Chief of Staff – County Board John Ruggini, Acting Fiscal and Budget Administrator Antionette Thomas-Bailey, Fiscal Analyst - DAS Glenn Bultman – County Board Analyst Linda Durham – Committee Clerk