

# Milwaukee County Commission on Aging

ADVOCACY COMMITTEE MEETING

Monday, January 9, 2022 | 1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

By Videoconference

### **Agenda**

- I. 1:30 p.m. Call to Order
- II. 1:35 p.m. Review of October 3 and December 5, 2022 Advocacy Committee Minutes (Discussion/Action)
- III. 1:40 p.m. Racial Equity & Advocacy (Reflection)
- IV. 1:45 p.m. Update on Action Items (Information)
  - a. FFY2023 Federal Budget & Aging Allocations
  - b. Update on Advocacy & Policy Manager position
  - c. Privatization of FamilyCare (Long Term Care)
  - V. 1:50 p.m. 2023-24 Commission on Aging Public Policy Priorities (Discussion/Action)
- VI. 2:30 p.m. Legislative & Policy Updates (Discussion/Action)
  - Federal Aging Policy
    - Federal Budget & Issues
    - Federal Regs & EO's
  - State Legislative Issues
    - State Budget Priorities WAAN 2023-24 Issue Briefs
    - Administrative Rules/ Gov's Task Forces (Broadband Access, Commission to End Loneliness, Wisconsin State Dementia Plan)
  - Milwaukee County Legislative Issues
    - Milwaukee County Budget & ARPA Allocations
    - Aging items of interest

(Legislative office representatives present are invited to briefly present items of interest).

- VII. 2:40 p.m. Commission on Aging Policymakers Gathering (Discussion/Action)
- VIII. 2:50 p.m. Schedule & Timing of Advocacy Committee Meetings and Membership Recruitment (Discussion & Action)
- IX. 2:55 p.m. Announcements & Advocacy Opportunities (Inform.)
- X. 3:00 p.m. Adjourn

**Open Meeting Notice:** This is an open meeting. All people are welcome. This meeting will be recorded. **ADA Accommodation requests** should be filed with the Milwaukee County Office for Persons with Disabilities, 278-3932 (voice) or 711 (TRS) upon receipt of this notice.

Public Comments taken at the discretion of the Chair.

# Commission on Aging John Griffith

Chair

#### **Amber Miller**

Vice Chair Chair, Service Delivery Committee

#### Janice Wilberg, Ph.D.

Secretary Chair, Advisory Council

#### Elliott Moeser, Ph.D.

Legislative Officer Chair, Advocacy Committee

#### Seguanna Taylor

County Supervisor

## Gloria Pitchford-Nicholas, Ed.D. Chair, Senior Centers Committee

Gloria Miller Chair, Wellness Committee

#### Ronald Byington

Terrence Regan Moore, Sr.

**Cherie Swenson** 

**Cindy Van Vreede**