COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE INTER-OFFICE COMMUNICATION

DATE: November 7, 2022

TO: Marcelia Nicholson, Chairwoman, County Board of Supervisors

FROM: Calli Berg, Director, Economic Development

SUBJECT: From the Director of Economic Development, requesting approval for the Milwaukee

Public Museum deaccession of a Forest County Potawatomi headdress as

requested by the Forest County Potawatomi Tribe

REQUEST

The Milwaukee Public Museum has received a formal request from the Forest County Potawatomi (FCP) to return a headdress created by FCP tribal member Dennis Shepard. The headdress was confiscated as part of a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service court case. The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service initially offered the headdress to the Forest County Potawatomi, but they declined. It was then offered to MPM as a donation in 2000. The headdress will never be on exhibit at MPM at the request of the Forest County Potawatomi at the time of accession. It has not been used for education nor will this be a likely possibility in the future.

All necessary investigation has been done to confirm that it complies with the Milwaukee Public Museum Collections Policy. This deaccession request has been approved by all the required staff at the MPM and was approved by the MPM Board of Directors at the August 18, 2022, meeting.

As policy states, we are now requesting approval for permission to deaccession from the Milwaukee County Board and would like these items to be presented at the next possible Milwaukee County Parks and Culture Committee for initial approval.

FISCAL IMPACT

The resolution has no fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION

The Economic Development Division requests that the County Board approve the attached resolution. The attached resolution authorizes the deaccession of the requested item. Upon these final approvals, please indicate the date approved and return these signed documents to:

Sara Podejko Registrar Milwaukee Public Museum 800 W. Wells Street

Milwaukee, WI 52213

Calli Berg

Calli Berg
Director, Economic Development

cc: David Crowley, County Executive
Mary Jo Meyers, Chief of Staff, County Executive
Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board
Supervisor Sheldon Wasserman, Chairman, Parks and Culture
Janelle Jensen, Board of Supervisors Committee Coordinator
Kelsey Evans, Parks Committee Coordinator