COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

Date: August 12, 2022

To: Chairwoman Marcelia Nicholson

Supervisor Felesia A. Martin, Chair, Committee on Audit

From: Jennifer L. Folliard, Director of Audits

Subject: Status Report - Register of Deeds Audit (File No. 21-297)

At its meeting for the March 2021 cycle, the Committee on Audit reviewed our audit report, "Former ROD's Willful Disregard for County Policies and Procedures and Cooperative Vendors Facilitated Development of a "Pot of Gold" for Improper Use of County Funds," and the resolution indicating County Board concurrence with the report recommendations was adopted.

Attached is a copy of the "ASD Highlights" page for general information about our audit. The full audit report can be accessed on the Comptroller's website via the following link:

RODReport2021.pdf (milwaukee.gov)

We are facilitating the submission of the attached status report, which contains comments describing the progress toward implementation of the audit recommendations from our audit report. Based on these comments, we note that three of the ten recommendations have been implemented.

Given the remaining efforts required to implement the open recommendations, we will facilitate the submission of the next status report for the March 2023 committee meeting cycle.

This status report is informational.

(Junifer J. Lactional

Jennifer L. Folliard

PAG/cah

Attachments

cc: Scott B. Manske, CPA, Milwaukee County Comptroller

Audit Committee Members

David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive

Israel Ramon, Milwaukee County Register of Deeds

David Cullen, Milwaukee County Treasurer

Aaron Hertzberg, Director, Department of Administrative Services

Regina Flores, Director, DAS-Procurement Division

Adam Gilmore, Administrator, Personnel Review Board & Ethics Board

Margo Franklin, Chief Human Resources Officer, Department of Human Resources

Margaret Daun, Corporation Counsel

Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board Staff

Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller

Ciara Miller, Research & Policy Analyst, Office of the Comptroller

Janelle Jensen, Manager, Legislative Services Division

Allyson Smith, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk