COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

Date: August 11, 2022

To: Chairwoman Marcelia Nicholson

Supervisor Felesia A. Martin, Chair, Committee on Audit

From: Jennifer L. Folliard, Director of Audits

Subject: Status Report – The Rock Audit (File No. 21-760)

At its meeting in the October 2021 cycle, the Committee on Audit reviewed our audit report, "Between The Rock and a Hard Place: Former Landfill Becomes Entertainment Center with Unresolved Community Concerns Beyond the County's Ability to Solve," and the resolution indicating County Board concurrence with the report recommendations was adopted.

Attached is a copy of the "ASD Highlights" page for general information about our audit. The full audit report can be accessed on the Comptroller's website via the following link:

The Rock Report (milwaukee.gov)

We are facilitating submission of the attached status report. The status report contains comments from departmental management that describe its progress toward implementation of the eleven audit recommendations from our audit. Based on these comments, we consider six of the recommendations to be closed and we plan to continue our follow-up on those that remain open.

Given the remaining efforts required to implement the open recommendations, we will facilitate the submission of management's next status report for the March 2023 committee meeting cycle.

This status report is informational and as requested at the June 2022 Audit Committee meeting, it should be appended to File No. 22-559, which was laid over pending receipt of the attached.

Jennifer L. Folliard

Junifer J. Lactional

PAG/cah

Attachments

cc: Scott B. Manske, CPA, Milwaukee County Comptroller

Audit Committee Members

David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive

Aaron Hertzberg, Director, Department of Administrative Services Calli Berg, Director, DAS – Economic & Community Development Guy Smith, Director, Department of Parks, Recreation & Culture

Margaret Daun, Corporation Counsel

Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board Staff

Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller Ciara Miller, Research & Policy Analyst, Office of the Comptroller

Janelle Jensen, Manager, Legislative Services Division

Allyson Smith, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk