## COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

**Date:** June 24, 2022

To: Chairwoman, Marcelia Nicholson

Supervisor Felesia A. Martin, Chair, Committee on Audit

**From:** Jennifer L. Folliard, Director of Audits

**Subject:** Status Report – Workforce Diversity Audit (File No. 20-205)

At its meeting for the April 2020 cycle, the Committee on Economic and Community Development reviewed our audit report, "Pulling Back the Curtain: A Look at Milwaukee County's Workforce through Racial and Gender Equity Lenses from 2009 to 2019," and the resolution indicating County Board concurrence with the report recommendations was adopted.

Attached is a copy of the "ASD Highlights" page for general information about our audit. The full audit report can be accessed on the Comptroller's website via the following link:

https://county.milwaukee.gov/files/county/comptroller/Audit/Audit-Reports1/2020/Milw.CountyTurnoverReportORIGINAL.pdf

We are facilitating the submission of the Department of Human Resources' current status report regarding its progress toward implementation of the eight audit recommendations made in our audit report. Based on its comments in the updated status report, copy attached, Human Resources has completed implementation of three recommendations and further progress has been made on the others.

This status report is informational. Due to the remaining efforts required to fully implement our recommendations, we will facilitate submission of Human Resources' next status report for the January 2023 committee meeting cycle.

Jennifer L. Folliard

Junifer J. Lactional

PAG/cah

Attachments

cc: Scott B. Manske, CPA, Milwaukee County Comptroller

**Audit Committee Members** 

David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive Margo Franklin, Chief Human Resources Officer

Aaron Hertzberg, Director, Department of Administrative Services

Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board Staff

Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller

Ciara Miller, Research Analyst, Office of the Comptroller

Janelle Jensen, Legislative Services Division Manager, Office of the County Clerk

Allyson Smith, Committee Coordinator, Office of the County Clerk