

Special Select Committee on Senior Centers Meeting Minutes December 15, 2021

Members Present

Commissioner John Griffith
County Supervisor Jason Haas
Ruth Bevenue
Patricia Delmenhorst
Sharron Fitak
Gene Guszkowski
Debra Jupka
Kelsie Lyons
Dain Maddox
Kent Mayfield
Howard Snyder
Jim Piontek

Members Excused

Cathy Wood

Chair Gloria Pitchford-Nicholas

Members Excused

Leon Davis Deborah Lewis Alice Steuck Konkel Sally Lindner

Milwaukee County Staff

Tim Christian, DHHS Jon Janowski, DHHS Daniel Idzikowski, *DHHS* Vonda Nyang, *DHHS* Carrie Ross Vallejo, *DHHS*

Guests

Pat Dunn Lisa Gross Lee Sprengel

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Acting Chair Dain Maddox called the Select Committee on Senior Centers to order on Tuesday, December 15, 2021, at 11:03 a.m. DHHS Division on Aging's Program and Policy Coordinator Dan Idzikowski took roll call. A guorum was present.

II. WELCOME AND REVIEW OF MEETING PURPOSE

Acting Chair Maddox reviewed today's meeting purpose, which is to discuss and act on the Select Committee's recommendations proposed to submit to the Milwaukee County ARPA Taskforce in support of the five County-owned senior centers.

III. CONSIDERATION OF THE COMMITTEE'S RECOMMENDATION TO THE MILWAUKEE COUNTY ARPA TASK FORCE TO UTILIZE ARPA FUNDING TO SUPPORT SENIOR CENTERS IN MILWAUKEE COUNTY.

The second bulleted paragraph and last sentence on page 2 of the Letter of Recommendations sentence were to change to read "\$3 million to address public

Senior Center Select Committee Meeting Minutes December 15, 2021 Page 2 of 2

access to the centers, including enhanced egress and an access way for a proximate public transit stop "to the door of each center."

Coordinator Idzikowski reviewed the Letter of Recommendations with the Committee. The recommendations are primarily for infrastructure, programming, and COVID-19 responses to fit the needs of the County-owned senior centers. Supervisor Haas expressed some concerns about the best use of the infrastructure funding for a few centers and access to the bus stops at two of the Senior Centers.

The Committee discussed and viewed the current 2022-2026 Milwaukee County Capital Budget Projects for senior centers and the Milwaukee County ARPA Task Force guidelines. Tim Christen, the Coordinator for Facilities and Maintenance informed the Committee that the County used the 2017 assessments of the senior center buildings and focused on specific needs per building/current conditions referenced in the letter in developing the current capital plan.

MOTION: To approve the Letter of Recommendations regarding senior center investment to the Milwaukee County ARPA Taskforce.

ACTION: Motion prevailed with two dissents (Griffith, Jupka seconded).

A member voiced disappointment with the wording of the first bullet on page 2, last sentence, which reads, "Because of the age, location, and functional mismatch of some of these centers, the county should consider deferring further expensive infrastructure investments and instead utilize ARPA funding as leverage to gain partnership funds for replacement and relocation of new facilities." The member felt this recommendation doesn't support or prioritize addressing new future modalities of senior centers and is too weakly worded. The member believes it should be reworded to defer further maintenance expenses and instead utilize the funding to leverage partnerships for the replacement, relocation, of physical centers and the development of virtual center programming delivery.

A member called the question, and a roll call vote was taken. The motion carried 9-Yes to 2-No.

Patricia Delmenhorst – Yes, Sharon Fitak – Yes, Dain Maddox – No, Howard Snyder – Yes, Kent Mayfield – No, Gene Guszkowski – Yes, John Griffith – Yes, Cathy Wood – Yes, Debra Jupka – Yes, Supervisor Haas – Yes, Kelsey Lyons – Yes

A few members asked how they could voice additional comments to the ARPA Task Force. Idzikowski will forward information to those who requested it. The next Senior Center Select Committee meeting will be held virtually **on Tuesday**, **January 11**, **2022**, **at 1:00 pm**.

IV. ADJOURNMENT: THE MEETING ADJOURNED AT 12:00 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted, Vonda Nyang, Executive Assistant