COUNTY OF MILWAUKEE Inter-Office Communication

Date: November 12, 2021

To: Chairwoman Marcelia Nicholson

Supervisor Sequanna Taylor, Chair, Committee on Audit

From: Jennifer L. Folliard, Director of Audits

Subject: Status Report – Parks Lease and Concession Agreements Audit (File No. 19-591)

At their meetings for the July 2019 cycle, the Committees on Finance & Audit and Parks, Energy & Environment reviewed our audit report "Parks' Agreements Provide Enhanced Opportunities to Residents and Major Revenues are Received but more Attention to Details is Required," and adopted a resolution indicating County Board concurrence with the report recommendations.

Attached is a copy of the ASD "Highlights" page for general information about our audit. The full audit report can be accessed on the Comptroller's website via the following link:

https://county.milwaukee.gov/files/county/comptroller/Audit/Audit-Reports1/2019/ParkLeaseandConcessionReportORIGINALV.3.pdf

Also attached is the current status report from Parks management communicating its progress toward implementation of the audit recommendations made in our audit report. Based on our review of Parks' comments and documentation submitted to our office, 2 of the 15 recommendations remain open. Updated responses for the two open recommendations as of October 2021 are highlighted in yellow in the status report.

This status report is informational and due to the remaining efforts required to fully implement the two open recommendations, we will facilitate submission of Parks' next status report, which is targeted for the June 2022 committee meeting cycle.

Jennifer L. Folliard

JLF/PAG/cah

Attachments

cc: Scott B. Manske, CPA, Milwaukee County Comptroller

Audit Committee Members

Junifer J. Lactional

David Crowley, Milwaukee County Executive

Aaron Hertzberg, Director, Department of Administrative Services

Guy Smith, Director, Parks Recreation & Culture Kelly Bablitch, Chief of Staff, County Board Staff

Steve Cady, Research & Policy Director, Office of the Comptroller

Janelle Jensen, Manager, Legislative Services Division Kelsey Evans, Committee Coordinator, Audit Committee