Date: December 2, 2024

To: Marcelia Nicholson, Chairwoman, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Caroline Gomez-Tom, Chairwoman, Committee on Intergovernmental Relations

From: Fred Ludwig, Government Affairs Liaison, Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Subject: File No. 24-9 Report

Pursuant to File No. 24-9, this report is submitted as an informational report regarding legislative updates. The purpose of this report is to provide an update related to local, state, and federal policy developments, as well as an overview on the current state legislative session.

State Election Results

Following the November general election, Republicans hold a 18-15 majority over Democrats in the State Senate and a 54-45 majority in the State Assembly. While Republicans maintain majorities in both chambers of the Legislature, Democrats gained 10 seats in the State Assembly and 4 in the State Senate.

In total, the State Senate has 6 new members and the State Assembly has 31 new members.

Members of the State Legislature who represent Milwaukee County include the following leaders (bolded names indicate new to serving a full term in their respective seat):

- 4th Senate District Dora Drake (D)
- 6th Senate District LaTonya Johnson (D)
- 8th Senate District Jodi Habush Sinykin (D)
- 7th Assembly District Karen Kirsch (D)
- 8th Assembly District Sylvia Ortiz-Velez (D)
- 9th Assembly District Priscilla Prado (D)
- 10th Assembly District Darrin Madison (D)
- 11th Assembly District Sequanna Taylor (D)
- 12th Assembly District Russell Goodwin Sr. (D)
- 13th Assembly District Robyn Vining (D)
- 14th Assembly District Angelito Tenorio (D)
- 16th Assembly District Kalan Haywood (D)
- 17th Assembly District Supreme Moore Omokunde (D)
- 18th Assembly District Margaret Arney (D)
- 19th Assembly District Ryan Clancy (D)
- 20th Assembly District Christine Sinicki (D)
- 21st Assembly District Jessie Rodriguez (R)
- 23rd Assembly District Deb Andraca (D)
- 61st Assembly District Bob Donovan (R)
- 63rd Assembly District Robert Wittke (R)

2025 Legislative Session

The inauguration of the members of the 2025 Wisconsin State Legislature, and hence the start of the 2025 legislative session, will be on Monday, January 6, 2025. Caucus leadership elections have all been held – each caucus is in the process of developing committee structures and membership and will begin to meet when established.

Further, the Governor's 2025-27 Executive Budget will be released in early 2025, at which point the Joint Finance Committee will begin its deliberations and public hearing process on the budget. OGA staff have and will continue to meet with the Governor's office and state legislators throughout the legislative session and state budget process to ensure that County priorities are heard and propelled throughout these decision-making processes.

WCA Legislative Conference and Business Meeting Resolutions

Each February, the Wisconsin Counties Association (WCA) holds its annual Legislative Conference in Madison. The two-day meeting provides a briefing on legislative proposals affecting counties and reports by WCA Government Affairs staff, state officials and thought leaders.

The 2025 WCA Legislative Conference will be held February 25-26, 2025 in Madison at the Madison Concourse Hotel.

Chairwoman Nicholson or I will be in touch with Supervisors regarding any further updates for the conference as we get closer to the date.

Further, each year, counties have the opportunity to submit resolutions for consideration at the WCA Annual Business Meeting, held in conjunction with the WCA Annual Conference. Resolutions adopted at the Annual Business Meeting become part of the WCA Platform.

The WCA Constitution requires all resolutions be submitted to WCA no later than 90 days prior to the Annual Business Meeting. With this year's conference being held in the Wisconsin Dells September 21-23, 2025 all resolutions must be submitted no later than Monday, June 23, 2025.